New Chair and members of the CMAJ Governance Council announced

Ottawa, ON - May 23, 2018

Following an extensive recruitment process launched last year, the Joule Board of Directors is today confirming the appointment of Dr. Alika Lafontaine as the new Chair of the Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ) Governance Council. Dr. Lafontaine is an award-winning physician and a recognized expert on Indigenous health systems and health policy, institutional bias, racism and reflective practice. The Joule Board also approved the appointments of Dr. Donald Redelmeier, Jocalyn Clark and Diane Scott-Lichter as Council members.

Established in 2018, the CMAJ Governance Council is responsible for the overall well-being and integrity of the journal,including ensuring editorial independence is maintained and CMAJ’s strategy and business objectives are aligned with the journal’s mission, vision and values. 

The ten-member Council, which reports to the Joule Board of Directors, now includes the following individuals:

  • Chair: Dr. Alika Lafontaine
  • Member (scholarly publishing expert): Diane Scott-Lichter
  • Member (peer editor): Jocalyn Clark
  • Member (academic physician): Dr. Donald Redelmeier
  • Representative, Editorial Advisory Board: Dr. Niranjan (Tex) Kissoon
  • Representative, CMA Board of Directors: Dr. Brian Brodie
  • Representative, Joule Board of Directors: Debbie Fischer
  • Joule CEO (ex officio): Lindee David
  • Interim Editor-in-Chief (ex officio): Dr. Diane Kelsall
  • Interim Publisher (ex officio): Holly Bodger

For more information on CMAJ’s governance structure, please visit:

About CMAJ
CMAJ is Canada’s leading medical journal and one of the top ten general medical journals in the world. 
The journal champions medical knowledge that matters for the health of Canadians and the rest of the world.  CMAJ is owned by 
Joule, a subsidiary of the Canadian Medical Association.

For all media requests, please contact: